RELEASE
LABEL
Rocket Group Pty LTD

Album Review

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road was where Elton John's personality began to gather more attention than his music, as it topped the American charts for eight straight weeks. In many ways, the double album was a recap of all the styles and sounds that made John a star. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road is all over the map, beginning with the prog rock epic "Funeral for a Friend (Love Lies Bleeding)" and immediately careening into the balladry of "Candle in the Wind." For the rest of the album, John leaps between popcraft ("Bennie and the Jets"), ballads ("Goodbye Yellow Brick Road"), hard rock ("Saturday Night's Alright for Fighting"), novelties ("Jamaica Jerk-Off"), Bernie Taupin's literary pretensions ("The Ballad of Danny Bailey"), and everything in between. Though its diversity is impressive, the album doesn't hold together very well. Even so, its individual moments are spectacular and the glitzy, crowd-pleasing showmanship that fuels the album pretty much defines what made Elton John a superstar in the early '70s.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Funeral for a Friend (Love Lies Bleeding)http://itunes.apple.com/album/goodbye-yellow-brick-road/id45353?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Candle in the Windhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/candle-in-the-wind/id45353?i=45321&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Bennie & the Jetshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bennie-and-the-jets/id45353?i=45323&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Goodbye Yellow Brick Roadhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/goodbye-yellow-brick-road/id45353?i=45325&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. This Song Has No Titlehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/this-song-has-no-title/id45353?i=45327&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Grey Sealhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/grey-seal/id45353?i=45329&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Jamaica Jerk Offhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/goodbye-yellow-brick-road/id45353?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. I've Seen That Movie Toohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ive-seen-that-movie-too/id45353?i=45333&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Sweet Painted Ladyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sweet-painted-lady/id45353?i=45335&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. The Ballad of Danny Bailey (1909-1934)http://itunes.apple.com/album/goodbye-yellow-brick-road/id45353?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Dirty Little Girlhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dirty-little-girl/id45353?i=45339&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. All the Young Girls Love Alicehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/all-the-girls-love-alice/id45353?i=45341&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Your Sister Can't Twist (But She Can Rock 'n Roll)http://itunes.apple.com/album/goodbye-yellow-brick-road/id45353?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Saturday Night's Alright for Fightinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/saturday-nights-alright-for/id45353?i=45345&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Roy Rogershttp://itunes.apple.com/album/roy-rogers/id45353?i=45347&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Social Diseasehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/social-disease/id45353?i=45349&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. Harmonyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/harmony/id45353?i=45351&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album