September 10, 1975

Album Review

Alive! was the album that catapulted Kiss from cult attraction to mega-superstars. It was their first Top Ten album, remaining on the charts for 110 weeks. Culled from shows in Detroit, New Jersey, Iowa, and Cleveland on the Dressed to Kill tour, the record features producer Eddie Kramer doing a masterful job of capturing the band's live performance on record. The band's youthful energy is contagious, and with positively electric versions of their best early material, it's no mystery why Alive! is widely regarded as one of the greatest live hard rock recordings of all time. "Rock and Roll All Nite" became a Top 20 smash and was the main reason for the album's success, but there are many other tracks that are just as strong -- "Deuce," "Strutter," "Firehouse," "Parasite," "She," "100,000 Years," "Black Diamond," and "Cold Gin" all shine in a live setting. Although there's been some speculation of extensive overdubbing to correct mistakes, Alive! remains Kiss' greatest album ever. An essential addition to any rock collection.
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Deuce
  2. Strutter
  3. Got to Choose
  4. Hotter Than Hell
  5. Firehouse
  6. Nothin' to Lose
  7. C'mon and Love Me
  8. Parasite
  9. She
  10. Watchin' You!/id876769456?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. 100,000 Years!/id876769456?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Black Diamond!/id876769456?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Rock Bottom!/id876769456?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Cold Gin!/id876769456?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Rock and Roll All Nite!/id876769456?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Let Me Go, Rock 'N' Roll!/id876769456?uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album