Chrysalis Records

Album Review

Although it falls short of the excellence of Crimes of Passion, Precious Time, and Get Nervous, Wide Awake in Dreamland is a generally decent and respectable effort that has more pluses than minuses. Closer in spirit to Tropico than Passion or Time, the consistently melodic Dreamland stresses pop elements and steers clear of hard rock. The CD's most memorable offerings include the haunting and moody "Too Long a Soldier," the infectious "Lift Em on Up," and a disturbing commentary on child abuse, "Suffer the Little Children." Unfortunately, Pat Benatar's popularity was starting to decline in 1988 -- and in the early-to-mid-'90s, she would receive little attention.
Alex Henderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. All Fired Up
  2. One Love (Song of the Lion)
  3. Let's Stay Together
  4. Don't Walk Away
  5. Too Long a Soldier
  6. Cool Zero
  7. Cerebral Man
  8. Lift 'Em on Up
  9. Suffer the Little Children
  10. Wide Awake in Dreamland
purchase full album