May 11, 1993

Album Review

Falling halfway between the modern R&B of Introducing the Hardline and the extravagant Neither Fish nor Flesh, Symphony or Damn is Terence Trent D'Arby's most ambitious album yet. It's also his best, because it takes the fine songwriting of his debut and melds it to the sonic excesses of Fish. Sure, some of it is embarrassing (it's hard not to cringe during the "Welcome to My Monasteryo" declaration at the beginning of the album), but more often than not, D'Arby's experimentations succeed, and succeed grandly, at that.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Welcome to My Monasteryo
  2. She Kissed Me
  3. Do You Love Me Like You Say?
  4. Baby Let Me Share My Love
  5. Delicate
  6. Neon Messiah
  7. Penelope Please
  8. Wet Your Lips
  9. Turn the Page
  10. Castilian Blue
  11. T.I.T.S. /F&J
  12. Are You Happy?
  13. Succumb to Me
  14. I Still Love You
  15. Seasons
  16. Let Her Down Easy
purchase full album