Album Review

Toni Braxton is both an elegant and earthy songstress, nicely balancing those seemingly divergent sentiments on her self-titled debut disc. Braxton's husky, enticing voice sounds hypnotic on "Breathe Again," dismayed on "Another Sad Love Song," and disillusioned on "Love Shoulda Brought You Home." But she's never out of control, indignant, or so anguished and hurt that she fails to retain her dignity. It's a sign of how great the Babyface/L.A. Reid production team was that they didn't settle for a defining mood; they presented Braxton with enough diverse emotional settings to hold the interest of urban contemporary males and females.
Ron Wynn, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Another Sad Love Song
  2. Breathe Again
  3. Seven Whole Days
  4. Love Affair
  5. Candlelight
  6. Spending My Time With You
  7. Love Shoulda Brought You Home
  8. I Belong to You
  9. How Many Ways
  10. You Mean the World to Me
  11. Best Friend
  12. Breathe Again (Reprise)
purchase full album