RELEASE
August 17, 1993
LABEL
Rhino

Album Review

In his liner essay for Ride the Wild TomTom, former dB's member Peter Holsapple jokingly describes this collection as "the equivalent of our Basement Tapes," and that statement actually describes the contents fairly well, especially when one remembers that Bob Dylan's Basement Tapes were mostly recorded as a goof. A collection of rehearsal tapes, demos, early single sides, and inside jokes, Ride the Wild TomTom is hardly a definitive portrait of The dB's, but anyone looking for a ragged-but-right look at the band's formative days during Chris Stamey's tenure with the band will eat it up. Along with early versions of "Soul Kiss," "Modern Boys and Girls," and "A Spy in the House of Love," Ride the Wild TomTom features a highly individual cover of The Grassroots' "Let's Live for Today," a commercial jingle for the East Coast music magazine New York Rocker (the band was using their offices as a rehearsal space), and the mock-punk onslaught "Hardcore Judy." Committed dB's fans will find this to be hoot, and while it's hardly the best introduction to the band's music, the quality of Chris Stamey and Peter Holsapple's songwriting shines through on even the jokiest numbers.
Mark Deming, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. We Should Be in Bedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/we-should-be-in-bed/id180446099?i=180446161&uo=5
  2. Everytime Anytimehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/everytime-anytime/id180446099?i=180446346&uo=5
  3. Let's Live for Todayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lets-live-for-today/id180446099?i=180446394&uo=5
  4. Little Handshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/little-hands/id180446099?i=180446498&uo=5
  5. You Got It Wronghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-got-it-wrong/id180446099?i=180446545&uo=5
  6. Tell Me Two Timeshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tell-me-two-times/id180446099?i=180446609&uo=5
  7. Nothing Is Wronghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nothing-is-wrong/id180446099?i=180446658&uo=5
  8. Purple Hosehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/purple-hose/id180446099?i=180446785&uo=5
  9. Ashhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ash/id180446099?i=180446824&uo=5
  10. I Read New York Rockerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-read-new-york-rocker/id180446099?i=180446835&uo=5
  11. Walking the Ceiling (It's Good to Be Alive)http://itunes.apple.com/album/walking-ceiling-its-good-to-be-alive/id180446099?i=180446866&uo=5
  12. Baby Talkhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/baby-talk/id180446099?i=180446960&uo=5
  13. Dynamite [Original Demo]http://itunes.apple.com/album/dynamite-original-demo/id180446099?i=180446995&uo=5
  14. Soul Kiss, Pt. 1http://itunes.apple.com/album/soul-kiss-pt-1/id180446099?i=180447073&uo=5
  15. Bad Reputationhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bad-reputation/id180446099?i=180447162&uo=5
  16. Modern Boys & Girlshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/modern-boys-girls/id180446099?i=180447279&uo=5
  17. What About That Cathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/what-about-that-cat/id180446099?i=180447285&uo=5
  18. What's the Matter With Me?http://itunes.apple.com/album/whats-the-matter-with-me/id180446099?i=180447363&uo=5
  19. The Fighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-fight/id180446099?i=180447470&uo=5
  20. She's Green I'm Bluehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/shes-green-im-blue/id180446099?i=180447516&uo=5
  21. If and Whenhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-and-when/id180446099?i=180447572&uo=5
  22. Soul Kiss, Pt. 2http://itunes.apple.com/album/soul-kiss-pt-2/id180446099?i=180447708&uo=5
  23. The Death of Rockhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-death-of-rock/id180446099?i=180447760&uo=5
  24. Purple Hose (Slight Return)http://itunes.apple.com/album/purple-hose-slight-return/id180446099?i=180447795&uo=5
  25. Hardcore Judyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hardcore-judy/id180446099?i=180447834&uo=5
  26. A Spy in the House of Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-spy-in-the-house-of-love/id180446099?i=180447877&uo=5
purchase full album