RELEASE
August 17, 1993
LABEL
Rhino

Album Review

In his liner essay for Ride the Wild TomTom, former dB's member Peter Holsapple jokingly describes this collection as "the equivalent of our Basement Tapes," and that statement actually describes the contents fairly well, especially when one remembers that Bob Dylan's Basement Tapes were mostly recorded as a goof. A collection of rehearsal tapes, demos, early single sides, and inside jokes, Ride the Wild TomTom is hardly a definitive portrait of The dB's, but anyone looking for a ragged-but-right look at the band's formative days during Chris Stamey's tenure with the band will eat it up. Along with early versions of "Soul Kiss," "Modern Boys and Girls," and "A Spy in the House of Love," Ride the Wild TomTom features a highly individual cover of The Grassroots' "Let's Live for Today," a commercial jingle for the East Coast music magazine New York Rocker (the band was using their offices as a rehearsal space), and the mock-punk onslaught "Hardcore Judy." Committed dB's fans will find this to be hoot, and while it's hardly the best introduction to the band's music, the quality of Chris Stamey and Peter Holsapple's songwriting shines through on even the jokiest numbers.
Mark Deming, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. We Should Be in Bedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/we-should-be-in-bed/id180446099?i=180446161&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Everytime Anytimehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/everytime-anytime/id180446099?i=180446346&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Let's Live for Todayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lets-live-for-today/id180446099?i=180446394&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Little Handshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/little-hands/id180446099?i=180446498&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. You Got It Wronghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-got-it-wrong/id180446099?i=180446545&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Tell Me Two Timeshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tell-me-two-times/id180446099?i=180446609&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Nothing Is Wronghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nothing-is-wrong/id180446099?i=180446658&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Purple Hosehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/purple-hose/id180446099?i=180446785&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Ashhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ash/id180446099?i=180446824&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. I Read New York Rockerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-read-new-york-rocker/id180446099?i=180446835&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Walking the Ceiling (It's Good to Be Alive)http://itunes.apple.com/album/walking-ceiling-its-good-to-be-alive/id180446099?i=180446866&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Baby Talkhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/baby-talk/id180446099?i=180446960&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Dynamite [Original Demo]http://itunes.apple.com/album/dynamite-original-demo/id180446099?i=180446995&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Soul Kiss, Pt. 1http://itunes.apple.com/album/soul-kiss-pt-1/id180446099?i=180447073&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Bad Reputationhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bad-reputation/id180446099?i=180447162&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Modern Boys & Girlshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/modern-boys-girls/id180446099?i=180447279&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. What About That Cathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/what-about-that-cat/id180446099?i=180447285&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. What's the Matter With Me?http://itunes.apple.com/album/whats-the-matter-with-me/id180446099?i=180447363&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. The Fighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-fight/id180446099?i=180447470&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. She's Green I'm Bluehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/shes-green-im-blue/id180446099?i=180447516&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. If and Whenhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-and-when/id180446099?i=180447572&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  22. Soul Kiss, Pt. 2http://itunes.apple.com/album/soul-kiss-pt-2/id180446099?i=180447708&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  23. The Death of Rockhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-death-of-rock/id180446099?i=180447760&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  24. Purple Hose (Slight Return)http://itunes.apple.com/album/purple-hose-slight-return/id180446099?i=180447795&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  25. Hardcore Judyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hardcore-judy/id180446099?i=180447834&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  26. A Spy in the House of Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-spy-in-the-house-of-love/id180446099?i=180447877&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album