Shanachie Records

Album Review

Marion Williams has a majesty in her voice, a power in her delivery and a compelling, dynamic quality that underscores her vocals. This new disc features 22 awesome performances recorded with minimal, sympathetic accompaniment and little production support; just mostly Williams' smashing, note-bending, soaring vocals. She flies on slow, bluesy numbers, testifies and shouts on originals like "Ride In The Clouds" and "I'll Never Return No More" and turns old standards such as Roberta Martin's "God's Amazing Grace" and Rev. Thomas A. Dorsey's "Live The Life I Sing About In My Song" into gripping, fresh reaffirmations of her own faith.
Ron Wynn, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Got My Traveling Shoes
  2. Ain't He Good
  3. God's Amazing Grace
  4. Come Out the Corner
  5. Leave You in the Hands of the Lord
  6. Ride in the Clouds
  7. Press on (Like the Bible Said)
  8. The New Gospel Train
  9. Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen
  10. I'll Never Return No More
  11. Hark the Voice
  12. Packin' Up
  13. Live the Life I Sing About in My Song
  14. I Heard the Voice
  15. I'm So Glad
  16. I Have a Friend
  17. O Lord Remember Me
  18. Were You There When They Crucified My Lord
  19. Loose the Man
  20. Lazarus
  21. Mary, Mary
  22. I Just Can't Keep It to Myself
purchase full album