October 18, 1994
I.R.S. Records

Album Review

Of all the various best-ofs and compilations that have come out over time that cover the Go-Go's career, this one is the clearest winner, by a long shot. Though by default it doesn't tell the full story, appearing as it did in 1994, in terms of containing both the famous hits and a slew of rarities and unreleased tracks, Return to the Valley of the Go-Go's is equally valuable for both neophytes and hardcore fans. The first 11 tracks alone make for an entertaining peek into the band's earliest days, with a slew of live cuts from both early rehearsals and gigs, including a number of songs taped at the legendary SF punk venue the Mabuhay Gardens. Everything's rough, energetic, and merry fun -- while it's no surprise why some compositions remained unheard in later years, it's still worth hearing how the group pureed everything from straight-up punk to spaghetti Western guitar and girl group right from the start. A real treat is a romp through "Johnny, Are You Queer?" which would later get a more famous (and much more sedate!) take by Josie Cotton. Plenty of rare B-sides from the group's commercially dominant days surface here and there, and as for the big hits, they're available a-plenty: "We Got the Beat," "Vacation," "Our Lips Are Sealed," "Head Over Heels," "Turn to You," and more. Choice album cuts include "Skidmarks on My Heart" and "This Town." Closing things out is an acoustic live take on "Mercenary" from the band's 1990 reunion and three wholly new songs from 1994, including the enjoyable "The Whole World Lost Its Head." Topping things off is a great booklet featuring a hilarious collection of photos and ephemera from early days on, with plenty of amusing comments from the bandmembers, along with an enjoyable history of the group and reflections from all five on their favorite songs.
Ned Raggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Living at the Canterbury/Party Pose
  2. Screaming
  3. Johnny, Are You Queer?
  4. Fun With Ropes
  5. Fashion Seekers-Intro/Fashion Seekers
  6. Blades
  7. He's So Strange
  8. London Boys
  9. Let's Have a Party
  10. Beatnik Beach
  11. Remember (Walking in the Sand)
  12. Lust to Love
  13. How Much More?
  14. Cool Jerk
  15. We Got the Beat [Single Mix]
  16. Skidmarks on My Heart
  17. This Town
  18. Our Lips Are Sealed
  19. Surfing and Spying
  20. Vacation
  21. Speeding
  22. Get up and Go
  23. It's Everything But Partytime
  24. Beneath the Blue Sky
  25. Good for Gone
  26. Head over Heels
  27. Turn to You
  28. Yes or No [Single Mix]
  29. I'm With You
  30. We Don't Get Along
  31. Can't Stop the World
  32. I'm the Only One
  33. Mercenary [Acoustic]
  34. Good Girl
  35. Beautiful
  36. Whole World Lost Its Head