October 02, 2006
Excelsior Melodies

Album Review

This soundtrack to the dark and brooding period circus drama Bye Bye Blackbird finds Mercury Rev operating instrumentally. Swirling, atmospheric, and expansive, Hello Blackbird retains much of the group's melodic, psych-pop core, but allows for a great deal more experimentation, resulting in a mesmerizing fusion of ambient electronica, modern classical, and Krautrock-inspired prog rock.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Blackbird's Call
  2. Illumination by Street Lamp
  3. Waltz for Alice
  4. Trial by Wire
  5. Daydream for Nina
  6. Audition Scene Sketch (Simple Because)
  7. The White Birds
  8. Josef's Vision
  9. Eye of the Blackbird (Traveling Music, Pt. 2)
  10. The Last of the White Birds (March Funebré)
  11. Cinema Theme
  12. First Flight of the White Birds
  13. The Chimpy Waltz
  14. Dempsey's Theme
  15. Fantasia No. 1
  16. Robert y Roberto
  17. Traveling Music
  18. Departed Angels
  19. Simply Because
  20. The Making of Hello Blackbird [Studio Footage] [Multimedia Track]
  21. Grasshopper's Wild Ride [Multimedia Track]
purchase full album