March 20, 2012
Lakeshore Records

Album Review

Singer/songwriter Damon Gough (aka Badly Drawn Boy) and director Paul Weitz captured lightning in a bottle in 2002 with the award-winning film About a Boy. Fueled by Gough's skewed yet emotional pop songs, it made Badly Drawn Boy a critical darling. Being Flynn, an adaptation of author Nick Flynn's memoirs Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, finds the pair reuniting in 2012 for a second go-round, and the results are pretty much the same. Once again, Gough's simple melodies and soulful delivery provide an emotional core from which the film draws to help illuminate its more poignant moments. Peppered throughout with impressionistic piano and string-laden instrumentals that feel like faded postcards from the '70s, it works surprisingly well as a stand-alone record, requiring little in the way of plot knowledge to be enjoyed as is. Less quirky than About a Boy, but maintaining an undercurrent of whimsy that helps cut through the at times overly earnest, sunset indie folk of songs like "Let It Rain" and "I'll Keep the Things You Throw Away," Being Flynn exudes warmth like a favorite old coat, even if it smells a little funky.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I'll Keep the Things You Throw Away
  2. Asleep at the Wheel
  3. Harbor Street Check-In
  4. If It's Too Late
  5. Last Day
  6. The Smile Behind Your Face
  7. Priest Rant
  8. Coming to Your Senses
  9. Sell My Blood
  10. The Space Between My Ears
  11. Jonathan Goes to Work
  12. Letter, Mirror
  13. Another Day, Another Night
  14. Letter to the President
  15. Let It Rain