Tommy Boy

Album Review

English DJs Matt Black and Jonathan Moore came up in the mid-'80s by way of a good deal of remix work for the likes of Yaz, Eric B. and Rakim, Blondie, and Queen Latifah. They struck out on their own with the monumental Hey Kids, What Time Is It? EP, which showcased their heady blend of hip-hop production aesthetics and proto-acid house grooves. This 1989 long-player finds the duo ranging far and wide with their smart, yet fluid mix and features such heavyweight guests as Latifah, reggae singer Junior Reid of Black Uhuru fame, the Fall's Mark E. Smith, and singer Lisa Stansfield. A fine starting point for the curious.
Stephen Cook, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. People Hold On [Featuring Lisa Stansfield]
  2. Fat (Party and Bullshit)
  3. (I'm) In Deep [Featuring Mark E. Smith]
  4. My Telephone
  5. Theme from "Reportage"
  6. Which Doctor?
  7. Stop This Crazy Thing [Featuring Junior Reid]
  8. No Connection
  9. Smoke Dis One [Featuring Queen Latifah]
  10. Not Paid Enough
  11. What's That Noise?
  12. Beats and Pieces [Mo Bass Remix]
  13. Stop This Crazy Thing [Hedmaster Mix By Adrian Sherwood]