June 23, 1998

Album Review

Kelly Price first made her mark as a vocalist on Notorious B.I.G.'s "Mo Money, Mo Problems" and Mase's "Feels So Good," which may give the casual observer the impression that she's a straight-up gangsta. Not so. Price is an urban crooner, much like a streetwise Mariah Carey or a domesticated Mary J. Blige. She has a sweet, smooth voice that's a joy to listen to, but what makes her debut Soul of a Woman so impressive is that she's not just a singer, she's a talented songwriter as well. Soul of a Woman is filled with well-crafted contemporary R&B songs that are melodic, memorable and perfectly delivered. It's an audacious debut from a promising young talent.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Don't Go Away (Interlude)
  2. Friend of Mine
  3. Secret Love
  4. Don't Say Goodbye
  5. Kiss Test
  6. Soul of a Woman
  7. You Complete Me
  8. Soul of a Woman (Interlude)
  9. Her
  10. Your Love
  11. Take Me to a Dream
  12. Lord of All
  13. Friend of Mine [Remix]
purchase full album