Esoteric Recordings

Album Review

Fay's self-titled debut album is an over-serious, labored folk pop/rock affair. As a songwriter, certainly his big influence is Blonde on Blonde-era Bob Dylan. But like someone else who heavily imitated that phase of Dylan's songwriting, David Blue, Fay doesn't have the deft touch with words that the master does. And like Blue, he has trouble hitting a lot of vocal notes, sometimes embarrassingly so. An aspect of this album that does not sound like either Dylan or Blue is the odd orchestration, which toes an uneasy line between the sort of stately, Baroque classicism heard in some of Nick Drake's arrangements and cheesy easy listening. It's usually delivered with a somber, earnest air, with the intent of someone who believes he has something very important to impart, but really isn't too interesting. The disjointed impressionism of songs like "The Sun Is Bored" have more ambition than quality or cogency, while songs with a storytelling bent like "Gentle Willie" seem to be leading toward a grand message that never arrives.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Garden Song
  2. The Sun is Bored
  3. We Want You To Stay
  4. Narrow Way
  5. We Have Laid Here
  6. Sing Us One Of Your Songs May
  7. Gentle Willie
  8. Methane River
  9. The Room
  10. Goodnight Stan
  11. Cannons Plain
  12. Be Not So Fearful
  13. Down To the Bridge
  14. Screams in the Ears [*]
  15. Some Good Advice [*]