March 27, 2001
EMI Music Distribution

Album Review

Yet another Cilla Black compilation -- she may be the most heavily compiled British singer this side of Shirley Bassey or Petula Clark, but who's complaining? Black was the most prodigious performing talent ever discovered by Brian Epstein, and the 20 songs on this collection, divided up equally between her classic mid-1960's sides into the 1970's, representing composers from $John Lennon and Paul McCartney ("It's For You", "Yesterday", "Step Inside Love"), Joni Mitchell ("Both Sides Now"), and Elton John ("Your Song") on the rock performer/composer side to Burt Bacharach ("Make It Easy On Yourself", "Alfie"), Victor Young ("Love Letters") and Galt MacDermot ("Aquarius") on the "legit" (i.e. formal pop) side. Not surprisingly, there's not a bad, or even a less than impressive track here, and the state-of-the-art digital sound is superb. There's no annotation but as part of EMI's budget-priced "Gold" line that's par for the course.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. You're My World
  2. Anyone Who Had a Heart
  3. Without You
  4. It's for You
  5. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
  6. Both Sides Now
  7. Alfie
  8. Gypsies Trams and Thieves
  9. Bridge over Troubled Water
  10. Conversations
  11. Yesterday
  12. Make It Easy on Yourself
  13. Aquarius
  14. For Once in My Life
  15. Step Inside Love
  16. Love Letters
  17. Something Tells Me (Something's Gonna Happen Tonight)
  18. Liverpool Lullaby
  19. Your Song
  20. Don't Answer Me
purchase full album