July 02, 2002
J Records

Album Review

Mostly urban, urban smooth, and quiet storm joints from artists spanning from Mary J. Blige to Average White Band. The only real dis-joint (misplaced tune) is the Ohio Players' "Fire," which doesn't fit well with the 15 other songs. It's the last track, and that's its saving grace; the song is the bomb but deserves a funkier surrounding. Melt like butter to Alicia Keys' "Fallin'," the Isley Brothers' "For the Love of You," Brian McKnight's "Anytime," and others via Essence of Soul 2002's romanticism.
Andrew Hamilton, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Before I Let Go
  2. Love Like This
  3. For the Love of You
  4. Brotha
  5. Love and Happiness
  6. Fallin'
  7. You Got Me
  8. Take You Out
  9. Not Gon' Cry
  10. Whip Appeal
  11. Brown Skin
  12. Anytime
  13. Outside Your Door
  14. Black Mona Lisa
  15. School Boy Crush
  16. Fire