October 08, 2002

Album Review

This budget two-fer from the Collectables label teams up a pair of separate mid-'60s Vee Jay recordings from the Caravans. Among the 24 close-quartet gospel standards are songs from Walk Around Heaven All Day and In Concert, including "That's the Way the Lord Works," "Going Home," "Stand by Me [Live]," and "My Shelter, My Rock [Live]." The live set is slightly superior due to the natural "first take" blending of their radiant harmonies. Recommended to fans of traditional gospel.
Al Campbell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Walk Around Heaven All Day
  2. Revive Us Again
  3. Nothing Can Stop Me
  4. The Lord Tried Me
  5. Right Now God
  6. Be Sure
  7. That's the Way the Lord Works
  8. Solid Rock
  9. Without God
  10. I've Gone Too Far (I Can't Give up Now)
  11. Since I Been Born Again
  12. Going Home
  13. Looking for You and Me [Live]
  14. That's Why I Call Him Mine [Live]
  15. Soul Salvation [Live]
  16. Wait on the Lord [Live]
  17. Blessed Assurance [Live]
  18. Ol' Man River [Live]
  19. Hold Your Head Up High [Live]
  20. Stand by Me [Live]
  21. I Want to See Jesus [Live]
  22. My Shelter, My Rock [Live]
  23. Hold Your Peace [Live]
  24. My Soul Says Yes [Live]