November 26, 2002
Cherry Red

Album Review

Several Raspberries best-of collections preceded the release of this one in 2002. It's something of a toss-up as to whether it or the best previous one, Capitol Collectors Series, should be given the nod. Each has 20 tracks and there's much duplication, though six of the songs on The Very Best of the Raspberries don't appear on Capitol Collectors Series. Still, all the songs that would probably be considered essential and the most familiar and popular appear on both: "Go All the Way," "Let's Pretend," "I Wanna Be With You," "Overnight Sensation," "Don't Wanna Say Goodbye," "Tonight," "Ecstasy," and "Starting Over," for starters. The difference lies chiefly in the selection of secondary tracks, and Cherry Red generally opts for some of the songs that represent their more harder-rocking side. Each best-of does the job about as well as the other for the fan who wants just one Raspberries album, and if you want more, there are RPM's thorough Power Pop, Vol. 1 and Power Pop, Vol. 2 compilations.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Don't Want to Say Goodbye
  2. Go All the Way
  3. Let's Pretend
  4. I Wanna Be with You
  5. Drivin' Around
  6. Tonight
  7. On the Beach
  8. Money Down
  9. I'm a Rocker
  10. Overnight Sensation
  11. Cruisin' Music
  12. I Don't Know What I Want
  13. Party's Over
  14. Ecstasy
  15. Starting Over
  16. I Reach for the Light
  17. All Through the Night
  18. Should I Wait?
  19. Rose Coloured Glasses
  20. Waiting
purchase full album