April 06, 2004
Proper Sales & Dist.

Album Review

The general rule on releases from the Proper label is to go with the box sets for the most complete perspective (at a cheap price) but stay away from the single-disc Proper Introduction series, which often mislead neophytes on just what a "proper introduction" to most artists should be. The volume on Dinah Shore, however, is a solid look at her hit-making prime, which began early (for band singers, at least), in 1940, and found her ensconced in the Hit Parade throughout the next 15 years. Her biggest hits -- "Anniversary Song," "The Gypsy," "Buttons and Bows" "I'll Walk Alone" -- are all here, though they're sprinkled throughout the disc. Virtually all of her second-tier performances are also here, including "Shoo-Fly Pie and Apple-Pan Dowdy" and "Blues in the Night" (but, surprisingly, not "Dear Hearts and Gentle People"). The sound quality is good but not great, making Proper Introduction a solid compilation of Dinah Shore's early career.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. My Man
  2. I Hear a Rhapsody
  3. Blues in the Night
  4. Skylark
  5. Sleepy Lagoon
  6. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  7. I'll Walk Alone
  8. Shoo-Fly Pie and Apple-Pan Dowdy
  9. Laughing on the Outside (Crying on the Inside)
  10. The Gypsy
  11. All That Glitters Is Not Gold
  12. Doin' What Comes Natur'lly
  13. You Keep Coming Back Like a Song
  14. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
  15. A Rainy Night in Rio
  16. Anniversary Song
  17. Tallahassee
  18. I Wish I Didn't Love You So
  19. You Do
  20. Little White Lies
  21. Buttons and Bows
  22. Lavender Blue (Dilly Dilly)
  23. Far Away Places
  24. Baby, It's Cold Outside