March 01, 2005

Album Review

The differences between this two-disc set and 1993's like-sized Tear the Roof Off will only be apparent to Parliament fanatics who don't really need either release. Any of those people will tell you that you need at least seven of the eight studio albums the group released between 1974 and 1980 and -- you know? -- they're absolutely right. But we can't all have what we need. If you cannot take a plunge into the albums, Gold is no small consolation, containing all the radio hits and plenty of the standout album cuts. It turns out to be Tear the Roof Off's replacement, containing a very similar track selection -- the preferable 11-minute mixes of "Flash Light" and "Funkentelechy" are thankfully kept, along with the ten-minute version of "Aqua Boogie," but you get "Handcuffs" instead of the less-essential live version of "Children of Production" -- while benefiting from remastered sound, and it will placate those hungry for more than what the succinct single-disc The Best of Parliament: Give Up the Funk has to offer. As with all the other editions in Chronicles' Gold series, the accompanying booklet contains several photos, plenty of information, and liner notes that are insightful and descriptive (this time from the great Greg Tate, reprinted from Tear the Roof Off).
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Up for the Down Stroke
  2. Testify
  3. All Your Goodies Are Gone
  4. Chocolate City
  5. Ride On
  6. P. Funk (Wants to Get Funked Up)
  7. Give Up the Funk (Tear the Roof Off the Sucker)
  8. Mothership Connection (Star Child)
  9. Handcuffs
  10. Do That Stuff
  11. Dr. Funkenstein
  12. Funkin' for Fun
  13. Dr. Funkenstein's Supergroovalistic-Prosifunkstication Medley: ... [Liv
  14. Fantasy Is Reality
  15. Flash Light [12" Version][Version]
  16. Bop Gun (Endangered Species)
  17. Funkentelechy
  18. Mr. Wiggles
  19. Aqua Boogie (A Psychoalphadiscobetabioaquadoloop) [12" Version][Version
  20. Rumpofsteelskin
  21. Party People [Single Edit]
  22. Theme from the Black Hole
  23. The Big Bang Theory
  24. Agony of DeFeet [Single Edit]
purchase full album