August 03, 1992

Album Review

Produced by R.E.M.'s Peter Buck, March 16-20, 1992 represents Uncle Tupelo's full evolution into a true country unit; with the exception of the eerie squalls of guitar feedback which haunt Jeff Tweedy's mesmerizing "Wait Up," there's virtually no evidence of the trio's punk heritage. Instead, the all-acoustic album -- a combination of Tupelo originals and well-chosen traditional songs -- taps into the very essence of backwoods culture, its music rooted in the darkest corners of Appalachian life. An inescapable sense of dread grips this collection, from the large-scale threat depicted in the stunning rendition of the Louvin Brothers' "The Great Atomic Power" to the fatalism of the worker anthems "Grindstone" and "Coalminers"; even the character studies, including a revelatory "Moonshiner," are relentlessly grim. A vivid glimpse at the harsh realities of rural existence, March 16-20, 1992 is a brilliant resurrection of a bygone era of American folk artistry.
Jason Ankeny, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Grindstone
  2. Coalminers
  3. Wait Up
  4. Criminals
  5. Shaky Ground
  6. Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down
  7. Black Eye
  8. Moonshiner
  9. I Wish My Baby Was Born
  10. Atomic Power
  11. Lilli Schull
  12. Warfare
  13. Fatal Wound
  14. Sandusky
  15. Wipe the Clock
purchase full album