January 16, 2007
EMI Music Distribution

Album Review

It's been standard music industry practice for years for artists to record (or for their labels to release compilations of) romantic tunes in time for Valentine's Day, and the January 2007 arrival of this set couldn't have been better timed as it also coincided with the release of the film version of Dreamgirls, based on the career of the Supremes. The material is all over the place, including songs from the '50s to those of more recent vintage, from the Platters' "Only You" through Berlin's "Take My Breath Away," and from fellow Motown great Marvin Gaye's "I Want You" to the ubiquitous "You Are So Beautiful." Interestingly, the one new track here (other than a piece from the current Broadway production of The Color Purple), the Fred White-penned ballad "I Love You (That's All That Really Matters)," makes the most of Ross' vocal capabilities and range, making one wonder why she didn't just record an album of new material custom-fitted to her talents.
Jeff Tamarkin, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Remember
  2. More Today Than Yesterday
  3. I Want You
  4. I Love You (That's All That Really Matters)
  5. What About Love
  6. The Look of Love
  7. Take My Breath Away
  8. Lovely Day
  9. Only You
  10. To Be Loved
  11. I Will
  12. This Magic Moment
  13. You Are So Beautiful
  14. Always and Forever
  15. Remember Reprise